Preview of the Dundrum AC Coillte 10k road race.....

Location.....The picturesque village of Dundrum is located in South Tipperary, about 8 miles from Tipperary Town and 9 miles from Cashel. The map below shows the approach roads and it is well signposted.

The race HQ is at the local Scout / Community hall. The start line and finish line are within 200m of the scout hall....

Entrance to the Community Hall from the road....

A useful landmark is the local Centra store. Below is the view from the south-west showing the entrance to the community hall and the start line is beyond that...

Plenty of space for parking at the hall...

Course map........The map of the course is shown below. It's basically two laps of a 5k course...

Course Profile.......Very flat...

Course description....This is the view from the start line...dead straight and flat as you run past the Centra Store...

Just after the store, you pass a garage and the finish line is just beyond that...roughly 200m or so after the start line...

At the junction at 400m, you stay on the road straight ahead...

As you leave the village behind, the road ahead is dead straight and flat....

Around 0.9 miles, you pass the entrance to Marl Bog Forest on the right, famously known locally as  the Duck Pond. This picturesque location is used by members of Dundrum AC for much of their training and is a nice area to visit.

Just after the 1 mile mark, it's left at the next crossroads......

.......and onto a smaller road but it continues mostly straight....and again, pretty flat...

At 1.7 miles, you turn left...

.........onto an even narrower country road....Again...straight and flat...

At 2.4 miles, you come to a crossroads where you turn right.....

....and onto the Green Road....another straight and flat road...

The Green Road comes to an end around 2.7 miles when you come to the road junction with the R505...the main road from Cashel. Turn left here...

....and continue into the village...again, straight and flat...

...passing St.Mary's Church...one of several impressive sandstone buildings in the village.

Around 2.9 miles, you enter the village proper...

...and at around the 3 mile mark, you take a left at the crossroads.......

....and up the road to the 'Start' line to complete the first lap.

One more lap and it's past this point for a second time to run on to the finish line.

Overall.......Picturesque village with a lot of history. Seriously fast 10k course. Hardly a hill worth talking about and plenty of long straight sections. Must be one of the fastest 10k courses in Munster if not the country.

Additional info for spectators.....Note the points A, B and C below. If you move between these points which are just over 100m apart you can see the athletes at approx. 0.25miles , 2.4miles, 3.2miles and again at 5.4miles.

Addendum :

Course Record Holders

Senior Men Daniel Gidumbanda Tanzania 1997 29:45,
O/40 Men Gerard Mullane Limerick 1996 32:41,
O/45 Men Eugene Moynihan Marian 2004 34:24,
O/50 Men Myles McHugh Clonmel 1996 35:18,
O/55 Men John Joe Harty Thurles Crokes 2005 37:58,
O/60 Men Billy O’Neill St. Abbans  2008 40:36,
Junior Men 5k Jason Fahy Olympic Harriers 2004 15:20,

Senior Women Rosemary Ryan Bilboa 2003 34:28,
O/35 Women Angela Mc Cann Clonmel 2008 39:08,
O/40 Women Mary Sheehan Grange 2003 39:24,
O/45 Women Martina Ryan Thurles Crokes 2014 42:55,
O/50 Women Rita Kierce St. Marys Clare 2012 42:29,
Junior Women 5k Siobhan O'Doherty Clodagh Harriers 2001 19:08,

Wheelchair Gerry Ford Blarney 2003 42:38.

5 Fastest Times

29:45 Daniel Gidumbanda  Tanzania 1997
30:51 Pat Bryne Tinryland 2002
30:58 Tom Carey Limerick A.C. 2006
31:21 Tommy Evans Gowran 2009
31:22 Seamus Power Kilmurray Ibrickane 2010

34:28 Rosemary Ryan Bilboa 2003
34:43 Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane 2010
34:54 Rosemary Ryan Bilboa 2011
35:07 Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane 2012
35:14 Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane 2014

List of Previous Winners
1986 John O'Halloran Tipp Town, Kathleen Maher Ballytrasna,
1987 John Fitzgerald Clonmel, Mary Lonergan Reenavana,
1988 Toddy Finn Raheny Shamrocks, Kay O'Sullivan Upperchurch,
1989 Bernard Feery Clonmel, Martina Dorney Thurles Crokes,
1990 Robert Costello Limerick, Kay O'Sullivan Upperchurch,
1991 Michael Hassett Thurles Crokes, Mary Sheehan East Cork,
1992 Robert Costello Limerick, Mary Sheehan East Cork,
1993 Michael Hassett St. Catherines, Mary Sheehan East Cork,
1994 Michael Hassett St. Catherines, Gaile Culleton Thurles Crokes,
1995 Michael Hassett St. Catherines, Marcella Moloney Tullamore Harriers,
1996 Michael Hassett St. Catherines, Siobhan McCormack Emerald A.C.,
1997 Daniel Gidumbanda Tanzania, Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
1998 Michae1 Hassett St. Catherines, Mary Sheehan East Cork,
1999 Colm Burke St. Abbans, Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
2000 William Harty K.C.K., Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
2001 Robert Wade Waterford A.C., Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
2002 Pat Byrne Tinryland, Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,
2003 Tom Carey Limerick A.C., Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,
2004 Mick Kelly Gowran A.C., Siobhan O'Doherty Borrisokane,
2005 Sandis Bralitis Ballynonty A.C., Siobhan O'Doherty Borrisokane,
2006 Tom Carey Limerick A.C., Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,
2007 Dermot Kearns West Limerick, Madeline Dorney Thurles Crokes,
2008 Jason Fahey Olympic Harriers, Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,
2009 Tommy Evans Gowran, Siobhan O'Doherty Borrisokane,
2010 Seamus Power Kilmurray Ibrickane, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane,
2011 Kenneth Rogers St John’s, Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,
2012 Michael Shannon Kilnaboy, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane,
2013 Chris Bracken Thurles Crokes, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.
2014 Kevin Moore Dundrum, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.